Episode 26 – PS1 Playlist

Stuart is back in the Forever Sound Version guest seat to help me honour one of our favourite consoles of all time – the original Sony Playstation! Fast tracks, slow tracks, tracks from RPGs, tracks from sports games… we have it all!

Stuart is back in the Forever Sound Version guest seat to help me honour one of our favourite consoles of all time – the original Sony Playstation! Fast tracks, slow tracks, tracks from RPGs, tracks from sports games… we have it all!

Listen:

Download:

https://goo.gl/cVWEut

 

Armored Core (1997, Sony Playstation) ‘Shape Memory Alloys’ by Keiichiro Segawa and Masaru Tateyama

Armored Core (1997, Sony Playstation) ‘Dotted Line’ by Keiichiro Segawa and Masaru Tateyama

Oddworld: Abe’s Oddysee (1998, Sony Playstation) ‘Rupture Farms’ by Ellen Meijers-Gabriel

Jade Cocoon: Story of the Tamamayu (1997, Sony Playstation) ‘Moth Forest’ by Minami Matsumae

Jade Cocoon: Story of the Tamamayu (1997, Sony Playstation) ‘Legend of Arcana’ by Minami Matsumae

Actua Soccer (1995, Sony Playstation) ‘Menu Theme’ by Patrick Phelan

Gran Turismo (1997, Sony Playstation) ‘TVR Dealer’ by Masamichi Seki, Takashi Kanai, Yasuaki Yabuta and Mitsukuni Murai

Gran Turismo (1997, Sony Playstation) ‘Honda/Acura Dealer’ by Masamichi Seki, Takashi Kanai, Yasuaki Yabuta and Mitsukuni Murai

Tomb Raider II (1997, Sony Playstation) ‘The Temple of Xian’ by Nathan McCree

Bushido Blade (1997, Sony Playstation) ‘Hiding in Shadow’ by Ayako Saso

 

Get in touch via email on foreversoundversion@gmail.com
Follow Forever Sound Version on Facebook at facebook.com/foreversoundversion
Follow Forever Sound Version on Twitter at twitter.com/fsvpodcast

Author: foreversoundversion

forever sound version is a video game music podcast that explores vgm classics - as well as some hidden gems - from systems such as the mega drive / genesis, snes, c64, amiga, game boy, and ps1.

4 thoughts on “Episode 26 – PS1 Playlist”

  1. As an American, I like hearing your different perspective on games. I haven’t listened to the Speccy Showcase episode yet, but that’s the type of thing I completely missed. It’s really interesting to discover parallel nostalgia, and hear some new tracks.

    I also think it’s funny that the Actua Soccer devs artificially boosted America’s rating. If there were any Americans playing the game, they ought to know better… I can’t imagine a casual soccer fan picking up the game.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve finally had a chance to finish your Spectrum episode! Overall I enjoyed it, and I would say that I found it fascinating as a VGM nerd. That being said, a lot of the sound was often a little too harsh for me. The fuzz can be a bit overwhelming. At least in the “1 bit” machines. Without nostalgia to add a layer of polish, it is strong barrier to entry. I’m totally onboard with the AY chip tracks, though.

        I know very little about the ZX Spectrum hardware. But I think of all my exposure to Speccy tracks have all come from the 128k machines. The only track I’ve played on my own podcast was from Solar Invasion, and I know that isn’t a beeper. I was surprised to hear that there was a “lower-tier” family I didn’t really know much about. I have heard beeper tracks in the demoscene context, but didn’t realize where it came from. Anyway, keep up the good work. I’m binging on the archives.

        Oh, also somewhat apropos, I stumbled upon this directory recently: https://archive.org/details/Saladedemais_-_Follin_Project_-_ZX_Spectrum
        It was an attempt to archive all of Tim Follin’s Spectrum works. I’m sure there must be some jams in there.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh wow, thanks a lot for that directory, I’ll definitely be having a dig through that. Maybe a Follin focus episode could be on the cards…

        I know what you mean about the sound of the beeper; it doesn’t produce the kind of music that I’d listen listen to on a regular basis – waiting for the metro, walking to the shops – but if I’m sitting down with the intention of getting stuck into some more obscure sounds, I might think about seeing what Speccy stuff I may have missed. I should say an extra ‘thank you’ to Daz here, since it was he who came out with most of the picks for this episode. I never actually owned the system myself (that era was slightly before my time, and I turned out to be more of a Commodore 64 kid anyway!) so I can’t claim to have much in the way of nostalgia for this stuff either.

        I just released a new episode featuring the fellas from the Rhythm and Pixels podcast, opening with another beeper tune, so see what you make of that one. Don’t worry, it’s short!

        Great work on the Visual Boy show! Looking forward to your next episode…

        Like

Leave a Reply

